Home | Contact Us  

Introducing Islam
by Suhel Farooq Khan

Five Pillars of Islam
1st Pillar (a)

Declaration of Faith (Shahadah)

An absolute belief in and the declaration of Faith is the first requirement of Islam.

Declaration of Faith consists of a simple two part statement:

a.   The first part is: La Ilaha Illallah
It means that No one else is worthy of worship but God

b.   The second part is: Muhammadur Rasul Allah
It means that Muhammad(Peace be upon him) is the (final) Messenger of God

This simple statement is the foundation of Islamic faith.

Muslims worship only One God and remain obedient to His Commands.  Muslims use the Arabic word Allah for God.

Muslims stay away from whatever God has forbidden for them.

They ask for everything only from Him and look only to Him for help, whenever in trouble.

Muslims also faithfully follow the traditions of Muhammad (Peace be upon him), the last Messenger of God, who had explained, exemplified and demonstrated the Commands of God to mankind, by living his own life in accordance to them.

Sincerely and firmly believing in, and declaring the Shahadah is the basic requirement for accepting Islam.


Introducing Islam

What is Islam?

Who are Muslims?

Who is the God of Muslims?

What is the Qur-an?
Who was Muhammad (Peace be upon him)?
Do Muslims Worship Muhammad (Peace be upon him)?
What are the Tradition of Muhammad (Sunnah)?
The Concept of worship in Islam?
The Five Pillars of Islam
Declaration of Faith
Articles of Faith
Prayers (Salah)
Call for Prayers
Compulsory Charity (Zakah)
Pilgrimage to the Ka'bah (Hajj)
Fasting (Sawm)
The Islamic Calendar
Is Islam Rational
Status of Women in Islam
Polygamy in Islam
Does Islam teach violence?
What is Jihad?
Fundamentalism, Terrorism and Islam
Does Islam tolerate other religions?
Does Islam recognize Jesus?
Things forbidden in Islam
A Simple Test
How to revert back to

Google islam4theworld

Powered by
Innovative Mindware