The Five Pillars of Islam

Suhel Farooq Khan


Shahadah (Faith)

What one truly and firmly believes in is Shahadah (Faith).
Islamic faith begins with pronouncing and believing in a simple statement called Shahadah.
The word Shahadah literally means to bear witness.
Shahadah consists of a simple two-part statement:
La Ilaha Illal-lah, Muhammadur Rasulallah.
The first part of Shahadah - La Ilaha Illal-lah means ‘there is no (other) god (worthy of worship) but Allah (God)’.
The second part of Shahadah - Muhammadur Rasulallah means ‘Muhammad is the (last)
Rasul (Messenger) of Allah (God).

This simple statement of Shahadah is the basic building block of Islam. Every Muslim must firmly believe in the statement: There is no one worthy of worship but Allah (God) and Muhammad S is His (last) Rasul (Messenger).
People, accepting Islam, have to pronounce and believe in Shahadah.

Anyone who has faith in Islamic principles but cannot say it publicly because of various compulsions, only means that the person does not completely understand or believe in those.

Opposite to the myth floated by sinister schemers, forcing anyone into Islam is forbidden.

There is no compulsion in religion. Verily, the Right Path has become distinct from the wrong path. Whoever disbelieves in Taghut and believes in Allah, then he has grasped the most trustworthy handhold that will never break. And Allah is All-Hearer, All-Knower.
Surah (Chapter) Al-Baqarah (The Cow) 2:256
Components of Shahadah (Faith)

There are six basic components of Shahadah (Faith). Muslims believe in all of the six components of Shahadah (Faith). Anyone who does not believe in all of the fundamental components of Shahadah (Faith) cannot be a Muslim.
    1. Belief in all Sifat (Attributes) of Allah (God).
    2. Belief in all Books of Allah (God).
    3. Belief in all Rusul (Messengers) of Allah (God), with a belief that Muhammad S was His last Rasul (Messenger)
    4. Belief in al-Qadr (Destiny)
    5. Belief in Mala”ikah (Angels)
    6. Belief in Akhirah (Life after Death)


Islam- Introduction
1. Shahadah
2. Salah
3. Zakah 
4. Sawm
5. Hajj

Powered by