>>Islam at a Glance
Islam at a Glance
By Suhel Farooq Khan
The Five Pillars of Islam
Charity (Zakah)

Islam ushered in an unprecedented social revolution and established a new kind of just and caring society. The well-off Muslims share their wealth with the less fortunate ones. Muslims pay 2.5% of their savings and wealth every year in charity. Personal place of residence, personal car and professional tools are exempted from the Zakah calculations. Poor Due Charity (Zakah) can be given in cash or kind for the following purposes:

  1. For the poor
  2. For the needy
  3. For people employed to collect Zakah
  4. To people who are inclined towards Islam
  5. To free the captives
  6. For those in debt
  7. For Allah’s cause
  8. For travelers

Poor Due Charity is also due on farm produce at the rate of 5-10% depending upon the mode of irrigation. Such charity is called ‘Ushr.
There is no upper ceiling on the amount of charity.
The literal meanings of the word Zakah is to purify or to grow. By paying Poor Due Charity (Zakah) Muslims purify their wealth and God causes it to grow further.  
Muslims pay Poor Due Charity (Zakah) by the Islamic calendar.

Powered by: